Make That Time Count – The Lighter side of Autism

1185909_395897613845200_548738667_nJust because your child may have been diagnosed with a challenge such as Autism or anything else does not mean that you have to toss away all dreams for them.

Autism is just a blanket diagnosis. There is still a child in there that has hopes, dreams and has a personality to boot.

Even though the tough behaviors of your child seem to overtake your entire household, just remember when the good behaviors come out and you see your child’s personality come through cherish it and hold on to it.

I remember not to long ago, when Sarah seen me put on some chap stick, she grabbed my hand and told me not to put it on. I asked her why and she said because it might hurt my lips. I told her that it would be ok because I had been using it for a while. She told me ok, but don’t come crying to me if it hurts you and she walked off in her own teenage way. It took me a while but then I realized we had a regular Mom and daughter moment.

Now, I don’t know about you but when the good moments came I was always waiting for the other shoe to drop. Don’t do that! That kind of thinking will rob you of the joy you felt when your child’s personality came out.

I remember another time when Sarah was abt. 6 or 7 years old. We lived in South Dakota. It was during the winter and the snow drifts were high. Sarah and her sisters were playing outside. Anna was trying to wipe off the snow on the propane tank and Sarah went running over to her, took her hand off the propane tank and told her not to touch it because the tank was hot.

Sarah knew propane heated the house so she assumed that the tank would be hot, out of concern for her sister she pulled her hand off the tank and said what she said. Right at that moment Sarah and Anna had a real sister moment.

Now maybe your child is nonverbal, maybe your child is physically challenged as well. Now matter what they are awesome children of the Lord, so enjoy them! Build them up. Edify them! They are only with us for a short period of time.  Make that time count!

One thought on “Make That Time Count – The Lighter side of Autism

  1. Pingback: Make That Time Count – The Lighter side of Autism | Sarah's Voice

Leave a Reply

