Homeschooling Children with Autism

I home schooled our children for a few years back in the early 1990’s. I had know idea what I was getting into at the time. I was the type of mom that loved to have her kids around and hated it when school started because I missed them. I know it sound crazy but that is just how I am.

 

When I figured out that I knew more about Autism than the schools did, I figured I could home school my kids with no problem. I had an Early Childhood Education Associates Degree, so I thought this homeschooling thing would be a piece of cake.

 

My education in no way prepared me for homeschooling our daughter with Autism and at the time I had no resources that I knew of that could help me. So, I just kind of played it by ear.

 

Marci and Anna were easy to teach. They each had their scholastic highs and lows but overall they both did very well. Sarah was a constant challenge, but I wanted to prove I could teach her and also prove that she could learn things and excel to the very best of her capabilities.

 

I put a whole lot of undue stress on myself trying to get her to learn the way her older sisters were learning. Somewhere in my education I must have skipped the day they taught about children having different styles of learning 🙂

 

Once I caught on to the different styles that children learn, I had to develop a whole new style for which to teach Sarah. In other words I had to learn all about what would keep her interest. What was one of her obsessions and how could I put that into her learning experience.

 

One of her greatest obsessions at the time were Vacuums. She could take them apart and put them back in better running condition than they were before. So, I thought maybe she learned better with hands on things. I tried many different hands on learning skills. I had to be very careful about how I approached hands on learning because of her sensory deficit. I learned that she liked to write, her own stuff but at least it was a start. She did not like numbers or math.

 

A lot of my techniques were hit and miss. I just had to get rid of what I had learned and thought was Early Childhood Education and learn what made Sarah tick.

 

Don’t get me wrong, I am all for more education and what I had learned in Early Childhood Education worked very well with my other two girls. I am just saying that with Sarah I had to learn a whole new technique and way of doing things.

 

Having children with Autism or any Special need is never boring and will challenge you, until you think you can not be challenged anymore. Let me tell you something, the challenge is what makes it great. Home schooling may not be for everyone and what works one day may not work the next, but if you can be on a routine yet flexible I would say you have a great start 🙂

A mother and her homeschooled daughter, studyi...

A mother and her homeschooled daughter, studying in the kitchen about household chemicals and the hazard warning labels(flammability, reactivity, etc )http://www.flickr.com/photos/vr/1253261487. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

http://homeschooling.gomilpitas.com/weblinks/autism.htm#.UZwfzbVJ5BA

 

3 thoughts on “Homeschooling Children with Autism

  1. Pingback: Homeschooling Children with Autism | Sarah's Voice

Leave a Reply

